The Geographic History of Major League Baseball
Franchises, Stadiums, and Cities

All logos are the property of MLB and their respective teams. They are used here for identification purposes only.

All franchises and stadiums in grey are defunct. All defunct franchises were members of the National League prior to 1900. The American League has never contracted.

The American Association is not included in this visualization. While the American Association could be considered a part of Major League Baseball, due to meeting the National League champion in an early World Series for seven years, the league did not survive and many teams, when given the choice, jumped to the National League, indicating unequal levels of play and league organization. In just 10 seasons, the AA hosted 25 franchises, indicating tremendous instability (even compared to the early NL). Four AA franchises survive today in the National League: Pittsburgh Pirates, Cincinnati Reds, Los Angeles Dodgers, and St. Louis Cardinals. However, the AA time of these clubs' histories is not included in this visualization, leaving the Chicago Cubs and the Atlanta Braves as the only franchises dating to the original 1876 founding of the National League.

The visualization is based on Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG). Use CTRL and either + or - on your keyboard or the scroll wheel on your mouse to zoom in or out.

Mouseover nodes (hover) to pull up info relating the franchise, stadium, city, or related links. Note that values are in seasons, not years. Therefore, a stadium such as Sportsmn's Park, which hosted Major League Baseball during 68 years could host 102 home seasons combined for multiple franchises.

The visualization is created using a JavaScript library, called Data Driven Documents (D3), developed by Mike Bostock.

Teams cannot be displayed in alphabetical order or by division, due to the complexity of links resulting from relocations and the working of the algorithm used to place nodes on the visualization. The horizontal layout shows the order in which the franchise played in stadiums, but does not represent a timeline to scale. Most recent homes are to the left and oldest are to the right.

Franchises are listed according to their most recent name. Certain combinations of cities and team names have been used multiple times by difference franchises. For example, no less than four different franchises have used the Washington Senators name (one of which was alternately know as the Washington Statesmen and is listed under that moniker).

Please email any questions or comments (especially on inaccuracies or errors in the visualization) to lokitez {at} gmail {dot} com or leave a comment.